the second page

on beauty

First thing: everything has an inherent beauty.

And when I say everything, I mean everything. From flowers, birds, and the sky, to violence, genocide, and death. There is always a perspective one can take, no matter how obscure and warped, that can interpret those things as beautiful.

It is the experiences1 we have that let us prefer some of these ideas over others. People like and are passionate about things because they find beauty in it, and their perspectives are conditioned to like them.

I think it is the artist's job to bring the beauty of things not normally seen to other's eyes, let it be through writing, screenplay, dance, etc.

For example: Horror movies are terrifying, but there is beauty in the fear it inspires in people. Extracting that emotion and bringing it to light is its job.


I think I am going to try to post something here everyday. Though sometimes, it may just be utter nonsense.

Email me at baryonyxpenrose@gmail.com for fun. Give me your silliest insult.

p.s. I made it so that the bug on the home page links to stuff. I'm going to change what it links to every so often.

  1. When I say experiences, I mean much more — our perspectives are formed by genetics, the tendencies that comes from the basic human mind, and any experiences that come after, etc.